Please make a donation to support Gunter's Space Page.
Thank you very much for visiting Gunter's Space Page. I hope that this site is useful and informative for you.
If you appreciate the information provided on this site, please consider supporting my work by making a simple and secure donation via PayPal. Please help to run the website and keep everything free of charge. Thank you very much.

Pioneer 6, 7, 8, 9, E

Pioneer 6 [NASA]

Pioneer A to E (Pioneer 6 to 9 after launch) were a series of five solar-orbiting, spin-stabilized, solar-cell and battery-powered satellites designed to obtain measurements of interplanetary phenomena from widely separated points in space on a continuing basis.

The spacecraft carried experiments to study positive ions and electrons in the solar wind, the interplanetary electron density (radio propagation experiment), solar and galactic cosmic rays, and the interplanetary magnetic field. Their main antenna were a high-gain directional antenna. The spacecraft were spin-stabilized at about 60 rpm, and the spin axis was perpendicular to the ecliptic plane and pointed approximately toward the south ecliptic pole.

Nation: USA
Type / Application: Solar Orbiter
Operator: NASA
Contractors: TRW
Propulsion: ?
Power: Solar cells (body mounted), batteries
Orbit: Heliocentric
Satellite COSPAR Date LS Launch Vehicle Remarks
Pioneer 6 (Pioneer A) 1965-105A 16.12.1965 CC LC-17A Delta-E
Pioneer 7 (Pioneer B) 1966-075A 17.08.1966 CC LC-17A Delta-E1
Pioneer 8 (Pioneer C) 1967-123A 13.12.1967 CC LC-17B Delta-E1 with TTS 1
Pioneer 9 (Pioneer D) 1968-100A 08.11.1968 CC LC-17B Delta-E1 with TTS 2
Pioneer E 1969-F12 27.08.1969 CC LC-17A F Delta-L with TTS 3


Cite this page: